Week #11 – Sick Days Are a Waste When You’re Really Sick

Let’s be honest. No one really likes to use their sick days. Not when they’re really sick. Don’t believe me, check the poll:

Of for sure, it’s nice to know that if you’re not feeling well or need to make a doctor’s appointment you can do so without worrying if you’ll have a job to come to the next day.

But who really likes to waste an entire day (especially a warm one!) stuck in the bed??

The first couple of hours are usually pretty okay (assuming you can sleep through whatever’s ailing you… if not, they can rather torturous!). But then comes the rest of the day. As you sneeze, cough and hack your way through it. Head pounding, stomach churning while everyone else seems to carry without a care in the world… it’s enough to make you sick! That is, if you weren’t already.

Maybe it’s because I hate to waste a day and not get something accomplished. Lazy days don’t frequent my life very often because I’ve just got too much on my plate for that. So I think in the back of my mind, I’m always secretly hoping that I’ll feel better right away so that I can go do laundry or run an errand or clean my room… something productive!

Usually by the time I wake up and respond to enough work e-mails to reasonably put me at ease that I won’t have a pile of work waiting for me the next day or that I haven’t forgotten something really major that’s due to the client… it’s 5pm.  Sigh…

The only nice thing about being sick and stuck in the bed is that you get to catch up on all of your favorite youtube videos. This one seemed appropriate

Okay, so clearly the only reference is the fact that the song is called “So Sick,” but given how I’m feeling right about now I say cut me some slack!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Week #11 – Sick Days Are a Waste When You’re Really Sick

  1. Bahiehk says:

    Hi there!!

    Stumbled upon your blog… Sorry to hear you’re sick.

    Wrote this guest post for a friend recently about how to best use your time when you’re sick + take it as an opportunity for growth. 🙂

    Thought you might enjoy: http://bahiehk.com/2011/04/07/guest-post-good-life-real-life/

    Be well,

    Bahieh K.

  2. Pingback: Response #5 – Sick Days « abbybakes

  3. Pingback: (R6) Sick On Your Own Dime « The Francesca Files

  4. Pingback: Who Really Uses Sick Days Anymore? Response Post #3 « TheDCWaterCooler

Leave a comment