Response #5 – It’s Not Mother’s Day, But…

I stumbled upon The Snarky Beagle the other day and came across Liz’s post on why her mom is the best. Which got me thinking… my mom is a rather cool dudette herself! In fact, I think SHE’s the best. And here’s why:

She’s the nicest person you’ll ever meet. I realize a lot of people say things like that about a lot of different people. In fact, people ususally say that this woman was super nice:

But trust me. Mother T ain’t got NOTHIN’ on my momma!

When I say that she is THE NICEST, I really, really mean it. Could it be because she grew up in a house with 8 siblings and had to learn at an early age the masterful skill of diplomacy in order to get a place at the table for dinner time. Perhaps. All I know is that my mom is the type of woman who regularly puts other people ahead of herself without complaint and with a smile. She’s just super nice that way.

She’s funny. Okay, when I say my mom is funny, I don’t mean that you’ll find her on the next episode of SNL, but she has this humor about her that is unreal. More witty and sarcastic than slapstick or crude. But spend a few minutes with her and you’ll be in stitches laughing… either with her, at her or at yourself!

She can cook. I already know some people who won’t believe this one. See, my mother has ‘earned’ this reputation for not cooking the way some people earn a Nobel Peace Prize. BUT, she can cook when she feels so inclined. You just have to catch her in the right mood. 40 days after every full moon seems to be at just the right time according to my calendar…

She’ll pray for you. This is probably the most important reason why my mom is the best. I can always count on her to get a prayer through if I’m going through a difficult time or just need some extra guidance and wisdom from the Lord. She’s my true blue prayer partner in that respect – something that I really, really appreciate!

This entry was posted in Faith in God, Relationships, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment